Geometry and Dynamics of Moduli Spaces

Tuesday, August 22, 2017 (All day) to Saturday, August 26, 2017 (All day)

The 13th William Rowan Hamilton Geometry and Topology Workshop

                      August 22-26, 2017

  The Hamilton Mathematics Institute, Trinity College Dublin


    Geometry and Dynamics of Moduli Spaces


Sponsors: Boston College, the GEAR Network, the Hamilton Mathematics Institute, and the National Science Foundation.

The workshop will consist of a two day mini-course August 22-23, followed by a three day lecture series, August 24-26, 2017.


This year's topic for the workshop is Geometry and Dynamics of Moduli Spaces


Funding and Sponsors:

The workshop is co-sponsored by Boston College, the GEAR Network, the HMI and NSF funding through CAREER Grant DMS-1350396. Funding is available for graduate students and junior researchers wishing to attend the mini-course and workshop. A limited amount of funding is also available for both junior and senior researchers wishing to attend the workshop. If you would like to request travel support you can do so on the workshop website at


Organizing Committee:

Ian Biringer (Boston College), Noel Brady (Oklahoma), Martin Bridgeman (Boston College), Martin Bridson (Oxford), Dawei Chen (Boston College), Brendan Guilfoyle (Tralee), Andreea Nicoara (Trinity College Dublin)


Workshop website:

The Hamilton Mathematics Institute, Trinity College Dublin
Trinity College Dublin
Dublin Ireland




This year’s mini-course will be given by Jayadev Athreya (Seattle) and Elise Goujard (Orsay) on Volumes of moduli spaces of meromorphic differentials. The mini-course will run August 22-23 and consist of a two-day series of lectures and discussions. The target audience is graduate students and junior researchers.


Lecture Series:

The lecture series will be August 24-26. Speakers include


Paul Apisa (Chicago)        

Matt Bainbridge (Indiana)         

Maxime Bourque (Toronto)           

Viveka Erlandsson (Aalto)            

Vaibhav Gadre (Glasgow)              

Alex Eskin (Chicago)

Sarah Koch (Michigan)              

Ania Lenzhen (Rennes)          

Ronen Mukamel (Rice)

Kathryn Lindsey (Boston College)     

John Smillie (Warwick)

Franco Vargas Pallete (Berkeley)        

Kasra Rafi (Toronto)                

Anton Zorich (Jussieu)*

*to be confirmed


There will also be scheduled discussion and problem sessions.