News archive

Posted Classification Sectionsort descending

Cédric Villani elected to the National Assembly of France

The French mathematician Cédric Villani, Fields Medal in 2010, and director of the Institut Henri-Poincaré Paris since 2009, has been elected to the National Assembly of France by the 5e circonscription de l'Essonne.... (Full article)

19 Jun 17

Open Access and Author Page Charges

In summer 2012, the three French Mathematical Societies (SMF, SMAI, SFDS) publicized a... (Full article)

25 Oct 12

EMS lecturer 2012: Kristian Seip (NTNU Trondheim, Norway)

Kristian Seip (NTNU Trondheim, Norway) was appointed as EMS-lecturer 2012. He will give a series of lectures “Selected problems in operator-related function theory and harmonic analysis” at CRM (Bellaterra, Spain), Tel Aviv (Israel), and St.... (Full article)

13 Jan 12

Decease of Professor Paul Malliavin

The French mathematician Paul Malliavin passed away on June 3 at the age of 84.
He was professor emeritus at the University Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris) and
member of the Academie des Sciences. A short biography can be found at... (Full article)

7 Jun 10

ERC consolidator grants to 312 mid-career top researchers

The European Research Council (ERC) has selected 312 top scientists in its first Consolidator Grant competition. These mid-career scientists are awarded a total of nearly €575 million. Grants are worth up to €2.75 million each, with an average of... (Full article)

21 Jan 14

Venues for lectures by Tamar Ziegler, the EMS lecturer 2013

The EMS meetings committee has appointed Tamar Ziegler (Technion, Haifa, Israel) as EMS Lecturer in 2013. Prof. Ziegler is a specialist in ergodic theory and in number theory. She has collaborated with, amongst others, Vitaly Bergelson, Ben Green... (Full article)

15 Jan 13

Institut Mittag-Leffler Summer School "Discrete Morse Theory and Commutative Algebra", July 18 – August 1, 2012

This summer school will focus on recent developments in combinatorial topology and discrete geometry, with an emphasis on the interaction with toric geometry and commutative algebra. A promising contemporary method for getting simple explicit... (Full article)

2 Mar 12

Inauguration of stable IMU office in Berlin at WIAS

The International Mathematical Union (IMU) opens its permanent office at the Weierstrass Institute in Berlin on February 1. The opening ceremony is presided by IMU President Prof. Ingrid Daubechies from Duke University (USA), Dr. Georg Schütte,... (Full article)

1 Feb 11

New call: Horizon 2020 - Marie Sklodowska-Curie actions - COFUND

A new call was issued under EU's programme HORIZON 2020:
The COFUND scheme aims at stimulating regional, national or international programmes to foster excellence in researchers' training, mobility and career development, spreading the best... (Full article)

24 Apr 14

IMA celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2014

The Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, the UK’s learned and professional society for mathematics and its applications, will celebrate its 50th Anniversary in 2014. A programme of celebratory events – including a 50th ‘birthday party... (Full article)

22 Feb 13

New tool for the job market for mathematicians

Two graduate students from Berlin have designed a new tool MathHire for the job market for mathematicians that turns more and more global. Apart from allowing to publish easily searchable job advertisements,... (Full article)

17 Oct 16

Ostrowski Prize to Madsen, Preiss and Soundararajan

Ib Madsen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), David Preiss (University of Warwick, UK) and Kannan Soundararajan (Stanford University, US) will share the 2011 Ostrowski Prize. The prize carries a monetary award of 100,000 Swiss francs. The... (Full article)

12 Apr 12

The First Clay Award for Dissemination of Mathematical Knowledge

We congratulate Etienne Ghys, winner of the first Clay Award for Dissemination of Mathematical Knowledge!

"He has given numerous carefully crafted lectures to audiences ranging from school children to delegates at the... (Full article)

10 Jun 15

ESF: Call for Exploratory Workshops Proposals

Each year, ESF supports approximately 50 Exploratory Workshops across all scientific domains. These small, interactive output oriented meetings are aimed at opening up new directions in research to explore emerging research fields with potential... (Full article)

26 Apr 11

News from the ICIAM council

Two important decisions were taken at the council of ICIAM (International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) in Beijing (China) on May 11:
Maria J. Esteban has been chosen as new President-Elect. Among a number of other... (Full article)

14 May 13

Fefferman and Schoen win 2017 Wolf Prize

Charles Fefferman, Princeton University, and Richard Schoen, University of California, Irvine, have been named the winners of the 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics for "their striking contributions to analysis and geometry."

19 Jan 17

6ECM approaching: Third announcement

The 6th European Congress of Mathematics will take place in the week July 2 - July 7 in Krakow, Poland. During the opening ceremony on Monday, July 2, several prestigious prizes established by the EMS will be awarded: 10 EMS prizes to young... (Full article)

11 Jun 12

Have a look at the gallery of past presidents at the EMS web site!

The history of the European Mathematical Society (founded in 1990) becomes alive on the new Gallery of Past Presidents established by former EMS publicity officer David Salinger, Leeds, UK.

31 Aug 11

Decease of Prof. Maryam Mirzakhani

Professor Maryam Mirzakhani, Stanford University, US, passed away on 14th of July, 2017, at the age of 40. She has been the first woman and the first iranian mathematician to receive the Fields Medal, awarded in 2014.

15 Jul 17

LMS prizes for 2013 announced

The Council of the London Mathematical Society announced the prize winners at the Society Meeting held at De Morgan house on 5 July:
De Morgan Medal – Professor John Thompson FRS, University of Cambridge
Naylor Prize and Lectureship... (Full article)

19 Aug 13

Epstein and Trèves awarded Bergman Prize

Charles L. Epstein (University of Pennsylvania, US) and François Trèves (Rutgers University, US) have been awarded the 2016 Stefan Bergman Prize for their profound contributions to complex analysis and geometry.

18 Mar 17

2013 Abel Prize - Call for Nominations

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters invites nominations for the 2013 Abel Prize. Nominations must include a description of the nominee's work and impact of the nominee/nominees, together with the names of distinguished specialists in the... (Full article)

9 Aug 12

Turkish academics persecuted for signing a petition

Turkish academics who have openly criticized Turkey’s military crackdown on ethnic Kurdish communities are now feeling the wrath of their government. In recent days, the government arrested 33 academics. Although all have since been released,... (Full article)

4 Feb 16


The Simons Foundation announces the Africa Mathematics Project, a program that will focus on mathematicians and their graduate students at institutions of higher learning in sub-Saharan Africa. The Foundation will make competitive awards that... (Full article)

17 Oct 11

Ramanujan prize 2014: Call for nominations

The Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries has been awarded annually since the first winner was announced in 2005. The 2014 Prize will be funded and administered jointly by the Abdus Salam International Centre for... (Full article)

19 Nov 13