Friedrich Hirzebruch 1927 - 2012

The first president of the European Mathematical Society, Friedrich Hirzebruch, has passed away. Fritz Hirzebruch studied mathematics at Münster. In 1956 he became professor at Bonn where he remained until his retirement. In 1980 he founded the Max-Planck-Institut fur Mathematik, serving as Director until 1995. His profound contributions to mathematics – in applications of topology to algebraic manifolds and number theory – and to German mathematical life, were honoured by many prizes, including that of the Wolf foundation in 1988 and the Georg Cantor medal of the DMV in 2004. He was honorary president of the 1998 International Congress of Mathematics in Berlin.
European mathematics has lost a great scholar and the EMS has lost one of its architects.
Detailed biographies:


Fritz Hirzebruch (1927-2012)

Slides of an Oberwolfach talk on Hirzebruch's work and influence by Andrew Ranicki (Edinburgh):

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image.