German Mathematical Society DMV: Annunal Meeting, Prizes

The annual meeting of the DMV took place from September 17 to 20, 2012, at the University of Saarland in Saarbrücken.
This year’s Cantor medal of the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV) goes to Michael Struwe, professor of mathematics at Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich. The Cantor medal is the most prestigious scientific award, handed out by the DMV. This year’s von Kaven-prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) is granted to Eva Viehmann, mathematician at Technische Universität München (TUM).
Micheal Struwe obtains the Cantor medal in recognition for his outstanding achievements in the field of geometric analysis, calculus of variations and nonlinear partial differential equations. The prize, which is worth EUR 4.000, is awarded every second year. Eva Viehmann receives the von Kaven-prize for her excellent work in the field of arithmetic algebraic geometry. The prize money of EUR 10.000 is offered by a foundation that was founded in 2004 by the mathematician Herbert von Kaven.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image.