EMS Prizes

At every European Congress of Mathematics, ten EMS prizes are awarded to outstanding young mathematicians with a European background. The 8th European Congress  of Mathematics will take place in Portoroz, Slovenia, in 2020. A call similar to the previous one below will be issued during the year 2018.

Call for Nominations of Candidates for Ten EMS Prizes

Principal Guidelines

Any European mathematician who has not reached his/her 35th birthday on July 15, 2016, and who has not previously received the prize, is eligible for an EMS Prize at 7ecm. Up to ten prizes will be awarded. The maximum age may be increased by up to three years in the case of an individual with a broken career pattern. Mathematicians are defined to be European if they are of European nationality or their normal place of work is within Europe. Europe is defined to be the union of any country or part of a country which is geographically within Europe or that has a corporate member of the EMS based in that country. Prizes are to be awarded for work accepted for publication before October 31, 2015.

Nominations for the Award

The Prize Committee is responsible for the evaluation of nominations. Nominations can be made by anyone, including members of the Prize Committee and candidates themselves. It is the responsibility of the nominator to provide all relevant information to the Prize Committee, including a résumé and documentation. The nomination for each award must be accompanied by a written justification and a citation of about 100 words that can be read at the award ceremony. The prizes cannot be shared.

Description of the Award

The award comprises a certificate including the citation and a cash prize of 5000 €.

Award Presentation

The prizes will be presented at the Seventh European Congress of Mathematics in Berlin, July 18-22, 2016, by the President of the European Mathematical Society. The recipients will be invited to present their work at the congress.

Prize Fund

The Foundation Compositio Mathematica has kindly offered to sponsor a substantial part of the prize money. 

Deadline for Submission

Nominations for the prize must reach the chairman of the Prize Committee at the address given below, not later than November 1, 2015:

Professor Björn Engquist
The Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences The University of Texas at Austin engquist@ices.utexas.edu