5th Women in Mathematics Summer School on Mathematical Theories towards Environmental Models

Sunday, May 26, 2013 - 8:00pm to Saturday, June 1, 2013 - 7:59pm

The European Women in Mathematics summer schools aim at providing a stimulating intellectual environment for PhD students and post-docs from different countries and different mathematical disci- plines. It is the fifth of a series, the last took place in Leiden in 2011. One of the main scopes of the whole EWM Summer School program is to encourage the initiative of young women in higher mathe- matics and push them to be propositive and take responsibility for organization and management. For this reason EWM has launched a call for proposals, aimed at gathering ideas of topics for minicourses from female mathematicians in their early stage career. The proponents of the selected projects have joined the committee as Course Directors.
The school will consist of short courses focusing on four topics of the current research in mathematics. For the 2013 edition the selected topics are in the areas of Dynamical Systems, Partial Differential Equations and Numerical Analysis. Each short course consists of an introductory part, a more advanced one, together with problem solving and tutorial sessions. There will be time for contributed talks and also discussions on gender issues. Participants and lecturers will be of both sexes.
A major aim of the fifth EWM school is the involvement and participation of women from developing countries, taking advantage that the school takes place at ICTP. As a matter of fact, due to a lack of female teachers in the higher education system and other possible discriminative facts, female mathe- maticians from developing countries may face serious problems in developing their career as researchers and may need to strengthen their motivations and professional self-confidence.
As the School’s topics mainly belong to those domains of Mathematics that are relevant to under- standing the physics and complexity of our planet, the EWM School is part of the Mathematics of Planet Earth Programme 2013 (http://www. mpe2013.org/).
Registration: http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?2468
Deadline february 15 2013

Scientific Committee: L. Fajstrup, T. Grava, S. Hittmeyer, E. Mezzetti, M.-F. Ouedraogo, M.-F. Roy, S. Terracini, K.R. Adeeb. Local Organizer: L. Goettsche

Giuseppina Autuori (Marche Polytechnic University) & Francesca Colasuonno (University of Bari)
Karin Mora (University of Bath) & Stefanie Hittmeyer (University of Auckland)
Carlotta Giannelli (Johannes Kepler University, Linz)
Chiara Simeoni (University of L'Aquila)

International Centre for Theoretical Physics - ICTP, Trieste (Italy)

User login