3rd IMA Conference on Nonlinearity and Coherent Structures

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 (All day) to Friday, July 12, 2019 (All day)

3rd IMA (Institute of Mathematics and its Applications) Conference on Nonlinearity and Coherent Structures
10 – 12 July 2019, Northumbria University, Newcastle, UK

Nonlinearity plays an important role in many fields of Science, Engineering and Technology. The aim of this conference is to bring together researchers working on aspects of nonlinear phenomena and to encourage interaction between experts from different areas such as Applied Mathematics, Mathematical Analysis, Fluid Dynamics, Engineering and Physics. Recent theoretical developments, new computational methods and experimental findings will be presented and discussed. We plan to avoid parallel sessions and foster as much as possible communication across the different communities.

Conference topics include:
• Integrable systems and soliton theory
• Nonlinear waves and nonlinear evolution equations
• Dispersive hydrodynamics
• Rogue waves and extreme wave phenomena
• Instability in nonlinear media
• Orthogonal polynomials
• Mathematical biology
• Coherent structures in shear flows and transition to turbulence

Call for Papers
Papers will be accepted for the conference based on a 200 word abstract on any of the above topics for oral or poster presentation. Abstracts should be submitted by Friday 22 March 2019 via https://my.ima.org.uk/
Please state whether your title is intended for oral “presentation” or “poster” presentation.

Early Bird Fee - IMA Member: £330
Early Bird Fee - Non IMA Member: £380
Early Bird Fee – Student: £180
Early Bird Fee - Non IMA Student: £190
The Early Bird Fee will be available until Wednesday 12 June after which fees will increase by £20.

Invited Speakers
Professor Gennady El (Northumbria University, UK)
Dr Karima Khusnutdinova (Loughborough University, UK)
Professor Paul Milewski (University of Bath, UK)
Dr Barbara Prinari (University at Buffalo and University of Colorado Colorado Springs, USA)
Dr Laurette Tuckerman (PMMH-ESPCI, France)
Professor Ken McLaughlin (Colorado State University, USA)

Scientific Committee
Dr Matteo Sommacal (Northumbria University) - Chair
Professor Sara Lombardo (University of Loughborough) (Deputy Chair)
Professor Peter Clarkson (University of Kent) – SIAM representative
Professor Thanasis Fokas (University of Cambridge)
Dr Tamara Grava (University of Bristol) (SISSA, Italy)
Professor Demetrios Papageorgiou (Imperial College London)
Professor Emilian Părău (University of East Anglia)
Professor Jean-Marc Vanden-Broeck (University College London)

Local Organising Committee
Dr Costanza Benassi - (Northumbria University)
Dr Thibault Congy - (Northumbria University)
Dr Benoit Huard - (Northumbria University)

Further information can be found here.

Contact information
For scientific queries please contact: Dr Matteo Sommacal (Northumbria University) - matteo.sommacal@northumbria.ac.uk

For general conference queries please contact the Conferences Department, Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, Catherine Richards House, 16 Nelson Street, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, SS1 1EF, UK.

E-mail: conferences@ima.org.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1702 354 020

Northumbria University
Nixon Hall
2 Ellison Place
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tyne and Wear
United Kingdom