News archive

Posted Classification Sectionsort descending

Abel Prize announcement March 19

The winner of the Abel Prize 2019 will be announced on the 19th of March at 11 GMT (12 noon in Oslo, Norway). The announcement will be transmitted as a live webcast and can be watched on the... (Full article)

15 Jan 19


This competition is part of the world initiative “Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013” (MPE2013) : .
The typical modules submitted to this competition can be of four forms and should... (Full article)

7 Oct 11

Call for nominations for several offices of IMU

IMU’s Adhering Organizations are invited to submit names for the following offices for the term 1 Jan 2019 – 31 Dec 2022.

IMU Vice Presidents and IMU Executive Committee (EC) Members-at-Large. The General Assembly will elect 2 Vice... (Full article)
20 Oct 17

New Editorial Board of the Journal of the European Mathematical Society

The Executive Committee of the EMS has appointed a new editorial board of its flagship journal, JEMS.
The EMS is greatly indebted to the departing editorial board, which under the leadership of Professor Brézis has raised the journal to its... (Full article)

27 May 14

European-Nordic Congress in Lund (S): 2nd announcement

The 26th Nordic and 1st European-Nordic Congress of Mathematicians takes place on June 10-13, 2013 at the Centre for Mathematical Sciences, Lund University, Lund, Sweden. The Congress is dedicated to the memory of Lars Hörmander (1931 - 2012),... (Full article)

6 Mar 13

Decease of Prof. Ludwig Faddeev

Professor Ludwig Faddeev, Steklov Institute of Mathematics in Moscow, passed away on 26th of February, 2017. Renowned mathematical physicist and President of the International Mathematical Union 1987–1990, he obtained the Shaw Prize for... (Full article)

27 Feb 17

EMS Statement on the Arrest of Prof Tuna Altinel

Last week the mathematician Tuna Altinel, member of the European Mathematical Society and professor at the Université Lyon 1 in France, was arrested in Turkey after he had his passport extracted by the police. Tuna Altinel was one of the... (Full article)

14 May 19

6 ECM: Satellite meetings

So far, 17 conferences and workshops have been given the status of satellite meeting associated to the 6th European Congress of Mathematics in Krakow, Poland.
See the list at... (Full article)

9 Jan 12

Hacon and McKernan awarded 2018 Breakthrough Prize

The 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics was awarded to Christopher Hacon, University of Utah, and James McKernan, University of California San Diego, for transformational contributions to birational algebraic geometry, especially to the... (Full article)

6 Dec 17

Geometry/Topology research programme at VU Amsterdam terminated

As result of a restructuring plan published two years ago (cf information below), the Free University Amsterdam (VU) has now formally terminated the Geometry/Topology research programmes. The VU did not dismiss the members of the Geometry Section... (Full article)

29 May 13

Call for Satellite Conferences of ICM2022 Saint Petersburg

The Organizing Committee of the ICM 2022 in Saint Petersburg is calling for proposals to hold satellite conferences, workshops and schools either before or after the Congress.

21 Nov 19

Professor Manfredo P. Do Carmo will be awarded the honorary degree Doctor Honoris Causa by the Universidad de Murcia

Professor Manfredo P. Do Carmo (IMPA, Brasil) will be awarded the honorary degree Doctor Honoris Causa by the Universidad de Murcia on the 10th of May 2012. The ceremony will take place at 12 noon in the Salón de Actos Facultad de Quimica in the... (Full article)

28 Feb 12

An International Day of Mathematics

The International Mathematical Union has prepared a proporsal to have March 14 declared as the International Day of Mathematics (IDM) by UNESCO. Every year, all countries will be invited to celebrate the IDM in the schools and with the public,... (Full article)

20 Feb 18

AMS Prizes and Awards 2011

The following prizes and awards were given at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans:
* AMS Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement to John W. Milnor, Stony Brook University
* AMS Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition to... (Full article)

21 Jan 11

Hirzebruch lecture at forthcoming European Congresses of Mathematics

In honour of the memory of Professor Friedrich Hirzebruch, an outstanding German mathematician and the first President of the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV) and the EMS have jointly agreed to... (Full article)

19 Aug 13

Kontsevich, Witten, and Seiberg Win Three-Million-Dollar Prize

Maxim Kontsevich, Nathan Seiberg, and Edward Witten have each won the US$3 million dollar Fundamental Physics Prize, a new prize that acknowledges accomplishments in fundamental physics and advances in closely related fields. The prize... (Full article)

14 Aug 12

Abel in Paris Event, January 28th 2015

The Abel Committee will meet in Paris on the 26th and 27th of January. On the 28th of January there will be an "Abel in Paris"-event. All lectures will take place in the Amphithéâtre Hermite at the IHP. The event is free and open to the public.... (Full article)

6 Jan 15

Journal Price Survey (AMS)

The American Mathematical Society has updated a price survey concerning mathematical journals and made it available online at ; these... (Full article)

12 Apr 12

Caffarelli Wins 2018 Shaw Prize

Luis A. Caffarelli, University of Texas at Austin, has been awarded the 2018 Shaw Prize in the Mathematical Sciences "for his groundbreaking work on partial differential equations, including creating a theory of regularity for nonlinear equations... (Full article)

17 May 18

EMS Summer Schools in Applied Mathematics

June 27 - July 2, 2011: CIME-EMS Summer School in applied mathematics, Cetraro, Italy:
Current challenges in stability issues for numerical differential equations,
... (Full article)

20 Apr 11

Fermat Prize 2013 awarded to de Lellis and Hairer

The Fermat Prize awarded once every two years by the Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse has been awarded jointly to Camillo De Lellis for his fundamental contributions (in collaboration with László Székelyhidi) to the conjecture of Onsager... (Full article)

22 Nov 13

Ramanujan Prize 2013: Call for nominations

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) calls for nominations for the 2013 Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries. The Prize winner must be less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the... (Full article)

13 Nov 12

Jean-Louis Loday 1946-2012

Jean-Louis Loday died as a consequence of an accident on June 6 atSables d'Olonne. Jean-Louis Loday was research director at the department of mathematics at Strasbourg; he was a specialist in algebraic topology. Jean-Louis Loday has spent his... (Full article)

8 Jun 12

EMS on new developments concerning Open Access

Two months ago the EMS reiterated its position on open access, see here.

While scientific publishing may move in this direction, any change of the system... (Full article)

1 Oct 18

IMS announces 18 new fellows, among them EMS-president Marta Sanz-Solé

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics has selected 18 new fellows named at the Joint Statistical Meetings/IMS Annual Meeting in Miami, Florida, USA: http://bulletin.imstat... (Full article)

10 Aug 11