Claire Voisin receives the 2016 CNRS Gold Medal

On September 21, 2016, the mathematician Claire Voisin was awarded the CNRS Gold Medal. A renowned specialist in algebraic geometry, Claire Voisin is recognized by her peers, especially for her research on "the topology of projective varieties of compact Kähler manifolds” and Hodge theory, an important branch of this discipline. Earlier this year, she was appointed new chair of algebraic geometry at Collège de France after having spent 30 years as a senior researcher at the CNRS, and she became thus the first female mathematician to enter the Collège de France.

Abel Prize 2016

The Abel prize 2016 will be awarded to Sir Andrew Wiles, University of Oxford, in Oslo on May, 24. The Abel prize festivities start with a wreath laying at the Abel monument on May 23 and end with a symposium including three Abel lectures and a science lecture on May 25.

Bull Prize 2015 awarded

The Bull-Joseph Fourier prize 2015 has been awarded to Victorita Doléan, Pierre Jolivet, Frédéric Hecht, Frédéric Nataf, Pierre-Henri Tournier for their work on ultra-fast medical diagnosis of brain aneurysms by means of new medical imaging technologies. Their work was supported by the French ANR grant MEDIMAX. The second prize was awarded to Antoine Levitt, researcher at INRIA, for his work on optimization of the performances of software dedicated to molecular modeling in order to create new materials and to practically proceed to "material by design".

Abel Prize announcement March 15

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Ole M. Sejersted, will announce the winner of the Abel Prize for 2016 at the Academy on the 15th of March. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the recommendation of the Abel Committee. The chair of the Abel Committee, John Rognes, will give the reasons for the awarding of the prize. Alex Bellos will then give a popular science presentation of the prize winner's work.


User login

Subscribe to RSS - Prizes