Craaford Prize in Mathematics to Yakov Eliashberg

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics to Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA,“for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena”.
Yakov Eliashberg was born 1946 in S:t Petersburg, Russia, he obtained a Ph.D. at Leningrad State University 1972. He is the Herald L. and Caroline L. Ritch Professor of mathematics at Stanford University, CA, USA.

Fermat Prize 2015 awarded to Laure Saint-Raymond and to Peter Scholze

The laureates of the Fermat Prize 2015 are:
Laure Saint-Raymond (École Normale Supérieure, Paris), for the development of asymptotic theories of partial differential equations, including the fluid limits of rarefied flows, multiscale analysis in plasma physics equations and ocean modeling, and the derivation of the Boltzmann equation from interacting particle systems.
Peter Scholze (Universität Bonn), for his invention of perfectoid spaces and their application to fundamental problems in algebraic geometry and in the theory of automorphic forms.

Geordie Williamson to Receive 2016 AMS Chevalley Prize

Geordie Williamson of the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics (Bonn, Germany) and the University of Sydney, will receive the inaugural AMS Claude Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory. Williamson is honored "for his work on the representation theory of Lie algebras and algebraic groups [which includes] proofs and reproofs of some longstanding conjectures as well as spectacular counterexamples to the expected bounds in others."

Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics 2016 to Ian Agol

Congratulations to Ian Agol (University of California at Berkeley and Institute for Advanced Study), the winner of the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics (3 million USD)! Agol is awarded for "spectacular contributions to low dimensional topology and geometric group theory, including work on the solutions of the tameness, virtually Haken and virtual fibering conjectures".

News on the Abel Prize

Two new members have appointed to the Abel Committee: Marta Sanz-Solé (Universitat de Barcelona), and Luigi Ambrosio (Scuola Normale Superiore, Italy). The Abel Committee is chaired by John Rognes, University of Oslo. The other members are: Rahul Pandharipande (ETH Zürich) and Éva Tardos (Cornell University). 

2015 Shaw Prize to Faltings and Iwaniec

The 2015 Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to Gerd Faltings, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Bonn, and Henryk Iwaniec, Rutgers University, for "their introduction and development of fundamental tools in number theory, allowing them as well as others to resolve some longstanding classical problems." The two will share equally in the US$1,000,000 prize.









Peter Scholze to Receive 2015 AMS Cole Prize in Algebra

Peter Scholze, Hausdorff Professor of Mathematics at the University of Bonn, will be awarded the 2015 AMS Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in January in San Antonio, Texas. Scholze is honored for "his work on perfectoid spaces which has led to a solution of an important special case of the weight-monodromy conjecture of Deligne."

2015 ICIAM prizes announced

The 2015 ICIAM Collatz Prize is awarded to Annalisa Buffa in recognition of her spectacular use of deep and sophisticated mathematical concepts to obtain outstanding contributions to the development of computer simulations in science and industry.