Dennis Sullivan receives Balzan prize 2014

The Balzan Prize in mathematics (pure or applied) ot the International Balzan Prize Foundation was in 2014 awarded to Dennis Sullivan (CUNY, USA) for "his major contributions to topology and the theory of dynamical systems, opening new perspectives for generations to come. For his exceptional results in many fields of mathematics, such as geometry, the theory of Kleinian groups, analysis and number theory”.

Fields medals 2014

At the opening ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians 2014 on August 13, 2014, the Fields Medals, the Nevanlinna Prize, the Gauss Prize, and the Chern Medal Award  were awarded. In addition, the winner of the Leelavati Prize and the speaker of the ICM Emmy Noether Lecture were announced.
Fields medalists:
Artur Avila (Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada and University Paris 7; Dynamical systems)
Manjul Bhargava (Princeton University; Geometry of numbers)

Recent mathematical prizes

Edward Witten has received the 2014 Kyoto Prize in Basic Sciences from the Inamori Foundation for “outstanding contributions to the development of mathematical sciences through the exploration of superstring theory”.

Miguel Walsh was awarded the 2014 ICTP Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize in recognition of his outstanding contributions to ergodic theory and number theory.

EMS Monograph Award 2014

The first EMS Monograph Award has been assigned jointly to
Patrick Dehornoy (Caen, F), Francois Digne (Amiens, F), Eddy Godelle (Caen, F), Daan Krammer (Warwick, UK) and Jean Michel (Paris 7, F) for their work Foundations of Garside Theory and to
Augusto C. Ponce (UC Louvain, B) for his work Elliptic PDEs, Measures and Capacities - From the Poisson Equation to Nonlinear Thomas-Fermi Problems.
The prize is endowed with 10k€ and the winning monographs will be published by the EMS Publishing House.