17th meeting of the IMU General Assembly

The 17th General Assembly of the International Mathematical Union has been closed. It took place in Gyeongju, Republic of Korea, on August 10th and 11th. The following major decisions have been made:

The IMU Executive Committee, the Commission for Developing Countries (CDC), and the IMU members of the Joint International Commission on the History of Mathematics (ICHM) for 2015-2018 have been elected. Shigefumi Mori will be the next IMU President, Helge Holden the next IMU Secretary. 

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, has been chosen as the location of ICM 2018, this congress will place in mid August 2018. São Paulo will be the location of the next meeting of the General Assembly.

Papua New Guinea and Senegal became new IMU Associate Members.

The General Assembly has endorsed many guidelines, and in particular the document ‘Recommendation on the evaluation of individual researchers in the mathematical sciences‘   written by an ad-hoc committee set up by the IMU EC.