EMS e-News 16, September 2015


The EMS anniversary

Preparations proceed for the one day meeting on October 22, 2015, at the Institut Henri Poincaré in Paris, where the EMS will celebrate its 25th birthday. The programme will include lectures by Hendrik Lenstra, Laure Saint-Raymond, László Lovász and Andrew Stuart, as well as a panel discussion with Peter Bühlmann, Maria Esteban, Ari Laptev and Roberto Natalini, moderated by Jean-Pierre Bourguignon.


Bids for the 8th ECM

The Executive Committee has received full bids from the two organisations hoping to organize the eighth ECM in 2020: the Universities of Sevilla in Spain and Primorska in Slovenia. These will be considered carefully and the ultimate decision will be taken at the council meeting in Berlin, before the opening of the seventh ECM.


Abel Prize

This year's Abel Prize was awarded to John F. Nash, Jr. and Louis Nirenberg for `striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis'. The EMS was delighted to congratulate to the laureates, but learned with great sadness a few days later of the deaths of John Nash and his wife Alicia, on their return from Oslo.


Scientific Advisory Board of the EMS Publishing House

The Executive Committee has nominated a new Scientific Advisory Board to make recommendations on the Scientific policy of the Publishing House, to give opinions on specific projects, and to collaborate with the EMS Publication Committee. The Board will be chaired by Jakob Yngvason. Its members are Gabor Lugosi, Frances Kirwan, János Pintz, Tomaž Pisanski, Zdeněk Strakoš, Angelika Steger, and Dmitry Vassiliev.


Juncker plan revisited

Thanks to a concerted effort from European Scientific societies, two of the most important chapters of Horizon 2020 (from our point of view at least), the European Research Council and Marie Skłodowska-Curie Action will now not be subject to budget cuts.



The 8th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics convened in Beijing 10-14 August. The ICIAM Board, of which the EMS is a member, also met over this period.



Catalan Mathematical Society

The Barcelona Graduate School in Mathematics is an initiative by the mathematics groups of the University of Barcelona, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Technical University of Catalonia, and the Centre de Recerca Matemàtica. Its objective is to provide doctoral and postdoctoral training at the highest level in an international environment. The Governing Board comprises Director Marc Noy, Lluís Alsedà, Joaquim Bruna, and Núria Fagella. Very recently, the School was awarded the `Unit of Excellence Maria de Maeztu', with a four year grant of 2.000.000 Euros from the Spanish Government, the only organisation in mathematics in Spain with this distinction. More information about the BGSMath and the Maria de Maeztu scholarships can be found, respectively at:

http://www.bgsmath.cat (a new web page is under construction)




Cyprus Mathematical Society

Two news-items about EUROMATH (European Student Conference in Mathematics), run by the Cyprus Mathematical Society and the Thales Foundation, in cooperation with the Le-MATH Project Focus Group, the Hellenic Mathematical Society and the Mathematical Society of South Eastern Europe:


Polish Mathematical Society

The jury of the 7th edition of `The International Stefan Banach Prize for a Doctoral Dissertation in the Mathematical Sciences' has awarded Jonas Ilmavirta from University of Jyväskylä, Finland. He received the prize for his PhD dissertation `On the broken ray transform'. This work leads to a better interpretation of radiographs as well as to interesting and important mathematical problems, e.g. to optimization methods on Riemannian manifolds.

The prize is a joint venture of Ericpol (a leading Polish IT company) and the Polish Mathematical Society. Its aim is to promote and financially support the most talented young researchers in mathematical sciences from central and north Europe. For more information, see



Portuguese Mathematical Society

An international conference on `The Mathematical Sciences and the 20th Century Dictatorships' will be held in Lisbon, 10-12 December 2015. This conference is a part of the events commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Portuguese Mathematical Society. The meeting aims to promote the discussion about the development and the practice of mathematics during the 20th century dictatorships in Portugal, Spain, Italy, Germany, France (under Nazi occupation), Brazil and Argentina. For more information, see



Royal Spanish Mathematical Society (RSME)


First edition of the Vicent Caselles awards

Six prizes to young mathematicians have been awarded jointly by RSME and Fundación BBVA. These awards for Mathematical Research are named after Vicent Caselles, the late mathematician and professor at the Universities of Valencia, Islas Baleares and Pompeu Fabra. For more information, see


Fulkerson prize to Francisco Santos

The 2015 Fulkerson Prize was awarded to Francisco Santos (Universidad de Cantabria), for `A Counterexample to the Hirsch Conjecture', Annals of Mathematics, 2012. The Fulkerson Prize is given every three years for outstanding papers in the area of discrete mathematics. The award is sponsored jointly by the Mathematical Optimization Society and the American Mathematical Society. For more information, see



Jacques-Louis Lions prize to Ildefonso Díaz

The 2015 Jacques-Louis Lions Prize of the Académie des Sciences Française was awarded to Ildefonso Díaz (Universidad Complutense de Madrid) for his outstanding contributions in the field of Applied Mathematics.



Centre International de Rencontres Mathématiques (CIRM)


New `2R-CIRM' building project

CIRM aims to double its hosting facilities by 2018. CIRM will increase and diversify its appeal as a hosting centre, in particular regarding the Jean-Morlet Chair, and the LabEx initiatives CARMIN and ARCHIMEDE. The opening is expected in July 2017.

Online material


Calls for proposals


EMS NEWSLETTER, No. 97 (September 2015)

The next issue of the Newsletter has been online since September 1st. It contains articles on the history of the EMS from former presidents, and on the first three ECMs. It also contains an interview with John Nash given shortly before his tragic death, on the occasion of his winning the Abel Prize, and a transcript of of the Abel Science Lecture by Frank Morgan, plus many other articles.



Keep up with the EMS and its Newsletter on social media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EMSnewsletter

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EMSnewsletter

(New!) Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+EuromathsocEurope



Recent books

For more information about our Publishing House, see




For questions, comments or suggestions about the e-News, please contact Professor Mireille Chaleyat-Maurel, Université Paris Descartes, Editor of the EMS E-News. e-mail: Mireille.Chaleyat-Maurel@math-info.univ-paris5.fr

User login