The inaugural IMU Breakout Graduate Fellowships Awarded

Thanks to a generous donation by the winners of the Breakthrough Prizes in Mathematics – Ian Agol, Simon Donaldson, Maxim Kontsevich, Jacob Lurie, Terence Tao and Richard Taylor – IMU (The International Mathematical Union) with the assistance of FIMU (Friends of the IMU) and TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences) launched past April a fellowship program to support postgraduate studies, in a developing country, leading to a PhD degree in the mathematical sciences.

The selection process of the recipients of the new IMU Breakout Graduate Fellowship has concluded with the award of full PhD grants to three students. The 2016 recipients are, listed in alphabetical order:

  • Do Thai Duong is a Vietnamese PhD student at the Institute of Mathematics of the Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology nominated by Professor Pham Hoang Hiep from the same institution.
  • María Alejandra Ramírez Luna is a Colombian PhD student at the Universidad del Valle, Colombia nominated by Professor Gonzalo García Camacho from the same institution.
  • Abebe Regassa Tufa is an Ethiopian PhD student at the University of Botswana nominated by Professor Habtu Zegeye from Botswana International University for Science and Technology.

See more information in:

User login