2017 Breakthrough Prize to Jean Bourgain

The 2017 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics has been awarded to Jean Bourgain (Institute for Advanced Study) for "combining deep theoretical insights with ingenious problem-solving ability" and for "an enormous impact on mathematics over the past forty years". The 2017 New Horizons in Mathematics Prize was awarded to Mohammed Abouzaid (Columbia University), Hugo Duminil-Copin (University of Geneva), and jointly to Benjamin Elias (University of Oregon) and Geordie Williamson (Kyoto University). Duminil-Copin and Williamson were among the winners of the EMS prizes earlier this year.

User login