Jacob Bedrossian awarded 2020 Peter Lax Award

The Scientific Committee of the XVIII International Conference on Hyperbolic Problems: Theory, Numerics, Applications (HYP2020) to be held in Málaga in June 22-26, 2020 has decided to institute the "Peter Lax Award" in honour of Lax's seminal contributions, which laid the foundations of modern theory and computation in the area of hyperbolic conservation laws. This distinction will be awarded to a young researcher (10 years within the PhD) in every future HYP Conference. The first Lax Award Prize will be Jacob Bedrossian, University of Maryland, US, for his brilliant achievements in mathematical theory of fluid dynamics.

The Scientific Committee of HYP2020 has decided as well to institute a special lecture to be held as part of every future HYP conference, named the "James Glimm Lecture" in honour of Glimm's fundamental and original ideas, which revolutionized research in the area of hyperbolic conservation laws. The first James Glimm Lecturer will be Constantine M. Dafermos, Brown University, US.