Prize Winners Announced

Every four years, during the ECM, the EMS awards 10 EMS Prizes, the Felix Klein Prize and the Otto Neugebauer Prize. All prize winners are usually announced at the Opening Ceremony at the beginning of the congress. Unfortunately, this year the tradition called for an alternative.

The 10 EMS Prizes are awarded “to young researchers not older than 35 years, of European nationality or working in Europe, in recognition of excellent contributions in mathematics.” The EMS prize winners for 2020 are:

  • Karim Adiprasito (Hebrew University of Jerusalem / University of Copenhagen)
  • Ana Caraiani (Imperial College London)
  • Alexander Efimov (Steklov, Moscow)
  • Simion Filip (Chicago)
  • Aleksandr Logunov (Princeton)
  • Kaisa Matomäki (Turku)
  • Phan Thành Nam (LMU Munich)
  • Joaquim Serra (ETH Zurich)
  • Jack Thorne (Cambridge)
  • Maryna Viazovska (EPFL, Lausanne)

The Felix Klein Prize is awarded “to a scientist, or a group of at most three scientists, under the age of 38 for using sophisticated methods to give an outstanding solution, which meets with the complete satisfaction of industry, to a concrete and difficult industrial problem.” The 2020 Felix Klein Prize winner is Arnulf Jentzen (University of Münster)

The Otto Neugebauer Prize is awarded “for highly original and influential work in the field of history of mathematics that enhances our understanding of either the development of mathematics or a particular mathematical subject in any period and in any geographical region.” The 2020 Otto Neugebauer Prize winner is Karine Chemla (Université de Paris and CNRS)

User login